New Years Resolutions

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/a3d/41281487/files/2015/01/img_0014.jpg
I want to say I capitalized this post to underline its importance, but really autocorrect just kept thwarting me.

I’ve never been one to make New Years resolutions. For so many years my life just seemed completely overwhelming. I’d say I’d commit to something, but know that it would fizzle out a few months, that I would just get too stressed out, or would forget about it, or feel like following the regime was just one too many obligations in my overloaded life.

Keep in mind, said regimes were things like “take one photo a day of something that makes you happy”. Between moving quickly through and up my first career, and then onto law school at the top law school in the country and the overachieving aligned with that, I didn’t have time for things that were just me. I chose my own path, but following it was like riding a trail of rapids where I was only in control if I stayed very, very focused.

Now, however, it seems like I’ve sort of reached the apex of that path. That isn’t meant to imply it’s all downhill from here or anything dismal or defeatist like that – there will be other paths to follow – but rather that I can take a minute to follow the stream and enjoy the air and the cool water by my side.

This means: why not make New Years resolutions? It could be a fun challenge for the year. I’m not going to do anything lofty – “Be the best at everything” or “Rule the world” or what have you (those are long term goals, guys) – but instead simple things that I just want to do. So, in case you’re curious, here’s my plan:

1. Make 1 new recipe a week.
2. Visit 3 cities in Ontario I’ve never been to before.
3. Try 5 new restaurants in Toronto I haven’t tried before.
4. Improve my French.
5. Try to follow Jamie Oliver’s new “You” app. It’s *just* launched, so I’m not going to commit to it too hard in case they change it and it goes downhill, but for the last two hours that I’ve been perusing it, it looks like fun. So I’ll give it a chance.

So there we go. I have commitments for 2015! They may not be particularly ambitious, but I like them. They mKe me happy right now, and all the things on them make me happy. I’ll see about keeping track of them here, too – I have been particularly committed to this either, but we’ll see how that goes.

Happy New Year, all! I hope it brings good things to you, and that you bring good things to yourselves.

Leave a Reply

